Box Office hours:  Mon: 10am - 5pm,   Tues - Fri: 10am - 8pm,   Sat: 12pm - 8pm (closed Sundays).    SUBSCRIBE to our 2023-24 season: 403-294-7447

Artistic Director

Stafford Arima

Artistic Director

"Our theatre will forever be a home that reflects the communities, the country, and the world we live in – a diverse, complex, stimulating world."

Born and raised in Toronto, Arima thrived in the New York theatre scene for over 20 years. In 2015, he became the first Asian Canadian to direct a musical on Broadway when Allegiance opened at the Longacre Theatre, starring George Takei and Lea Salonga. Arima was also nominated for a 2004 Olivier Award for his direction of the West End premiere of the musical, Ragtime. Some additional directing credits include productions of Altar Boyz (Off-Broadway) Carrie (MCC Theater, Off-Broadway), The Tin Pan Alley Rag (Roundabout Theatre Company), Red Velvet (The Old Globe Theatre), Poster Boy (Williamstown Theatre Festival), Jacques Brel Is Alive and Well and Living In Paris (Stratford Festival), Abyssinia (Goodspeed Musicals), A Tribute to Sondheim (Boston Pops), and Forgiveness, Billy Elliot: The Musical, The Secret Garden, Mary and Max - A New Musical, and A Christmas Carol (2019, 2021), and the online filmed version of A Christmas Carol (2020) (Theatre Calgary). Arima has shepherded new musical development at the New York Musical Theatre Festival, National Alliance for Musical Theatre, Toronto Fringe Festival, New York Stage and Film, and the SPF Festival. He is a graduate of York University, where he was the recipient of the Dean’s Prize for Excellence in Creative Work. He also serves as Artistic Advisor for Broadway Dreams, and is an Adjunct Professor at UC Davis.

Executive Director

Maya Choldin

Executive Director

Raised in Alberta, and graduate of Mount Allison University, Ms. Choldin joined Theatre Calgary following her role as Managing Director of Pig Iron Theatre Company in Philadelphia, PA, a position she held for six seasons.

Prior to Pig Iron, Maya has built a long resume in the arts that includes General Manager of the Pennsylvania Ballet, along with roles at George Mason University’s Hylton Performing Arts Center, the Kimmel Center, and management of productions and projects at Opera Philadelphia, the Mann Center, and FringeArts.

"I am thrilled to return to Alberta and to join Artistic Director Stafford Arima in leading Theatre Calgary, alongside its dedicated staff and passionate Board. Never has the mission of Theatre Calgary been more relevant than today. As we struggle to find ways to come together, I look forward to helping the Theatre Calgary team create engaging experiences and to make sure that the diverse community of Calgary feels welcome and represented both on our stages and in our audiences.

During these unprecedented times we have unique opportunities to consider the possibilities of what is next, and this has been at the center of my conversations with Stafford and the Board. I am inspired and excited to work with this exceptional team, and to join Theatre Calgary."

In addition to her arts experience, Maya has served on the boards of a variety of community organizations, and in the fall of 2019, she attended ArtEquity Facilitator Training to deepen her commitment to equity, diversity, and inclusion in the arts.


Theatre Calgary Staff

Administration Office:  403.294.7440
Audience Services:  403.294.7447

Board of Directors

Theatre Calgary is governed by a volunteer Board of Directors who are passionate about the arts and bring unique knowledge, skill sets and valuable networks to Theatre Calgary. The Board is elected each September at the Annual General Meeting.

  • Theatre Calgary Society Board Members 2023-24
      • Joy Alford
      • Co-Chair
      • Catherine Samuel
      • Co-Chair
      • Partner, McCarthy Tétrault LLP
      • Stephen Curran
      • Vice Chair, Governance & Nominating Committee Chair
      • Canada Director, National Operations, Dentons Canada LLP
      • Chadwick Newcombe
      • Corporate Secretary
      • Counsel, Kahane Law Office
      • Brian Giang
      • Audit & Finance Committee Chair
      • Director, Finance, Vermilion Energy Inc.
      • Kate Abbott
      • Senior Legal Counsel for Canada, Aveva Group
      • Shalini Bhatty
      • HR Committee Chair
      • Partner, Leaders International
      • David Bradshaw
      • Vice President, Client Care, ATB
      • Sade Laleye
      • Vice President, Financing & Consulting, BDC
      • Tricia Leadbeater
      • Portfolio Manager, Investment Advisor, Wealth Management, Richardson GMP
      • Cherry Ma
      • Artistic Committee Chair
      • Principal & Manager of Investor Reporting, Azimuth Capital Management
      • John C. MacAulay
      • Regional President, BMO Bank of Montreal
      • Kimiko Comeau
      • Director, Busines Advisory & Transition Wealth, BMO Private Wealth
      • Nairn Nerland
      • Fund Development Committee Chair
      • Norman Schachar, MD
      • Professor Emeritus of Surgery, University of Calgary Cumming School of Medicine
      • Craig D. Senyk
      • Past Chair
      • Board Chair, Mawer Investment Management Ltd.
      • Kirsty Sklar
      • Partner, Norton Rose Fulbright Canada LLP
  • Theatre Calgary Endowment Foundation Board Members 2023-24
      • Tricia Leadbeater
      • Chair
      • Portfolio Manager, Investment Advisor, Wealth Management, Richardson GMP
      • Margo Randles
      • Vice Chair
      • Kelly Bernakevitch
      • Secretary / Treasurer
      • Andrew Bateman
      • Partner, Miller Thomson LLP
      • Paul Beitel
      • Cherry Ma
      • Principal & Manager of Investor Reporting, Azimuth Capital Management
      • Nairn Nerland